Skip to content
Department of State Homepage State Library & Archives of Florida Services for Citizens Services for State Employees Services for Librarians Services for Archivists Services for Records Managers

Division of Library and Information Services : Research : Search Our Catalogs : Archives Catalog

State Archives of Florida Online Catalog

Magnifying glass over a document.

The Online Catalog allows searching and browsing of information about the State Archives of Florida's holdings of over 40,000 cubic feet of state and local government records and historical manuscripts. The catalog provides descriptions of over 2,700 collections and lists the contents of containers and folders in many of those collections.


SearchAdvanced Search  | Browse Indexes | Browse Collections  | FAQ

Details Page

Click on for detailed listing.

Record Group Number: 001026
Series/Collection Number: .S 1735
Creator: Arkansas. Dept. of Public Welfare.
Title, Dates: Arkansas Confederate pension application files, 1891-1940.
Amount: 121.00 microfilm reels
Medium Included:
Organization/Arrangement: Alphabetical by last name of soldier or widow.
Restrictions:
Terms Governing Use:
Biographical/Historical:     On April 1, 1891, the state of Arkansas passed Act 91 granting annual pensions to ex-Confederate servicemen and their widows. Under this act a State Pension Board and 75 local pension boards were formed.  These agencies administered the pensions until the creation of the State Department of Public Welfare in 1939.  After that date the pensions were administered by this agency.
    The pensions were given to indigent, disabled, or honorably discharged veterans, or unmarried indigent widows of veterans, who had lived in Arkansas for twelve months prior to applying.  In 1915 widowed mothers of veterans and needy widows who had re-married but who were born before 1878 became eligible.  In 1937 widows who had married veterans before 1927 became eligible.  This changed in 1939, when these widows had to be born before 1870 to be eligible.  From 1891 to 1915 the annual pension payment was $25.00.  After 1915 that amount was raised to $100.00, but due to inadequate funding, the amount actually paid was usually much less.
Summary:     This series consists of microfilm of the pension application records for Confederate veterans living in Arkansas or their widows. Each file generally includes an application form, a doctor's certificate of disability, and a supporting sworn statement from two comrades in arms.  After 1927 widows submitted additional biographical information.  Original discharges, paroles, letters, or other supporting documents are also occasionally found in these files.
    Applications generally provide the soldier's and/or widow's name, application date, county of residency, reason for inability to work, veteran's and/or widow's death date, regiment and division name, dates of service, and parole/discharge date.
Finding Aids: Microfilm listing available.
Additional Physical Form:
Reproduction Note: Microfilm.
Location of Originals/Duplicates: Originals held by the Arkansas History Commission.
Associated Materials:
Language Notes:
Ownership/Custodial History:
Publication Note:
General Note:
Electronic Records Access:
Subject Access Fields: Military pensions.
Confederate pensions.
Arkansas History Civil War, 1861-1865.
Added Entries Arkansas. State Pension Board.